Formula 1 Bets: All Ready for 2021 Season!

Reading Time: 4 minutes read

The return of the Formula 1 season in 2021 is ongoing, with an attractive calendar already established. This year, Formula 1 will hold 23 Grands Prix, making the competition more exciting for fans and bettors that are already longing for the races to start and place their bets.

The pre-season starts on March 12 in Sakhir Circuit, Bahrain, being the opening race also in Bahrain on March 28. The competition will end on Dec. 12 in Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi.

In addition, a lot of novelties are waiting for the fans, followers, and bettors in Formula 1 this season. Hereunder we explain them all.

🚩Covid Cost on F1

Even though the races were reduced from 22 to 17 in 2020 due to the pandemic, the new season will include the whole 22 Grand Prix, plus a new Grand Prix in Saudí Arabia. This makes a total of 23 Grands Prix, which makes the next F1 season the biggest in its history.

With this extended calendar, F1 owner Liberty Media will try to recover as much as possible all the losses of the year 2020, mainly due to the lack of audience. The largest part of the team’s revenues comes from ticket selling.

🏁 Novelties in Formula 1 2021

As already said, there will be a new Grand Prix Saudí Arabia that will be held on an urban circuit in Jeddah, built especially for this event. 

Another novelty is the Zandvoort circuit, which finally returns after decades of absence. It will be in September, but not as the first European race of the season as planned in 2020

There will not be held two events previously expected: the Vietnam and Miami Grands Prix.

For this year 2021, the pre-season will be only three days. As a reminder, the pre-season used to be eight days and in 2020 it was reduced to six. 

During this 2021 season, Formula 1 teams will have one hour less to practice on Fridays. According to new regulations, the two Friday practice sessions will be reduced from 90 minutes each to 60. 


🏎  Mercedes and Hamilton

Starting with the great combination of Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes, both will continue together this 2021 season. The seven-time world champion and the best F1 constructor’s team announced a new deal early in February. They signed a one-year contract for 2021. 

This will be Hamilton’s ninth season with Mercedes and he will partner Valtteri Bottas, who signed also last August for a fifth consecutive campaign with the German team. 

New Additions and Changes

🔶 Fernando Alonso returns with Renault to the competition after almost three years of hiatus.

🔷  The new name of the Renault team is now called Alpine.

🔶  Carlos Sainz has been signed for the Ferrari Team and Sebastian Vettel also takes a new journey with Aston Martin.

🔷 Mick, the son of the seven-time champion Michael Schumaker makes his F1 debut in the Haas F1 Team as a rookie.

🔶 The Red Bull team finally opted for the Mexican Sergio Perez as a replacement for Alexander Albon.

🔷 In sporting terms, the biggest change will be for the McLaren team that will no longer use the Renault engine moving to Mercedes. With Renault’s engine, McLaren reached the third position in the constructors’ world championship.

72nd Formula One World Championship – 2021 Calendar

72nd Formula One World Championship - 2021 Calendar lbsbet

These are the main novelties in Formula 1 for the present season. Hopefully, COVID-19 will not lead to any further changes in the future, and the plans to stick to the 23 Grand Prix calendar will remain intact.

Are you ready for the world’s premier motorsport event? Place your bets on Formula 1 at London Betting Shop now, enjoy the races and win big!

Gambling can be addictive. Please know your limits and gamble responsibly