Italy claims Euro Champions after winning over England

Italy claims Euro Champions after winning over England / London Betting Shop

Reading Time: 4 minutes read

After beating England in the penalty shootout, all at Wembley could watch Italy crowned Champions of its second Euro Championship. Roberto Mancini’s Azzurra got the trophy home again after 53 years from its first, leaving the English fans with the desire to debut as champions of the competition.

England scored first

England was playing with the advantage of being at home. The match started badly for Italy, since England scored first in the second minute, making this the fastest goal in Euro finals history. It came after a great move by Kane, with a pass to Trippier, and finally, Luke Shaw scored successfully.

After the sudden advantage, Italy was forced to go on the offensive for the first time in this Euro, and the high pressure of the English team blocked almost any chance that Italy had to score.

However, the Italian effort was rewarded, as they had won 33 consecutive games. In the 67 minutes of the second half, Leonardo Bonucci scored the tie after a corner kick. 

Extra time and penalties

The extra time started with the same pressure and although the players were tired, the teams kept fighting. Nobody wanted to go to penalties. The second part of extra time was rampant, but in the end, the clash ended with the same result 1-1.


Once in the penalty shoot-out, England first felt in a celebratory mood when Pickford saved from Belotti, and Kane and Harry Maguire made it 2-1. The goalkeeper kept the hosts in the game again when he saved from Jorginho. But finally, Donnarumma had the last word when he blocked Saka’s weak shot to give Italy the second UEFA European Championship in their history.

The final result 3-2. Harry Kane and Harry Maguire scored the two penalties for England, while Domenico Berardi, Leonardo Bonucci, and Federico Bernardeschi scored for Italy.

It´s coming Rome” after 53 years

The last time Italy was crowned Euro Champions was 53 years ago, in 1968. However, the national team reached the final twice without winning it, in 2000 and 2012. This is the longest time a country has waited to win the tournament again.  The previous record was held by Spain, who won in 1964 and then in 2008 after 44 years.

As for England, this was the first time they had reached the final of the European Championship. The English national team was looking to end their 55-year wait for an international trophy after winning the 1966 World Cup.

Italy celebrates Roberto Mancini’s men claiming the Azzurri’s second continental trophy at Wembley. 

You can start to bet on your favorite team in the next European Championship at We offer the best odds. 

Don’t miss out on our latest welcome bonus of 200% on your first deposit up to $400!

Gambling can be addictive. Please know your limits and gamble responsibly