Know the 5 Oldest Clubs of Liga MX

The 5 Oldest Clubs of Liga MX - London Betting Shop

Reading Time: 4 minutes read

Mexican football started to make its first steps at the beginning of the 20th century. Although the Liga MX as we know it nowadays, is not even twenty years old, there are clubs of the current first division of Mexican football that has more than 100 years of history.

The Mexican League was born in 1902, and at that time it was an amateur competition very different from the current Liga MX. And precisely one of the five clubs that founded that first Mexican football league is still today among the elite of Mexican football, being considered the oldest team in the whole country. 

In 1943, the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol Asociación (F.M.F.), established the professional national league. 

Of the 18 teams currently playing in Liga MX, only five are over 100 years old and can boast of being centenarian institutions. These are the 5 oldest clubs of Mexican football.

Club de Fútbol Pachuca

Los Tuzos are the oldest club in Mexican football. A group of English miners founded the club on 1 Nov. 1892, under the name Pachuca Football Club. Together with other clubs, it founded the Liga Mexicana de Football Amateur Association in 1902. It is the only of the initial teams that remain in the First Division. The club has won the Liga MX 6 times.

Club Deportivo Guadalajara

El Rebaño Sagrado was officially founded on May 8, 1906, and is one of the biggest teams in the country. Chivas currently have won 12 Liga MX championships and is one of only two clubs that have never been relegated. The club distinguishes itself from the rest of the clubs in Mexico by its policy of having only Mexican players in its team.


Atlas FC

In the early 1900s, several young men from the city of Jalisco went to study in England, where they also began to play football. When they returned to their country, they decided to create a team. It was on August 15, 1916, when they met in a cafeteria to start the Rojinegros del Atlas project. The club has only one Liga MX title, won in the 1950-51 season.

Club América

Founded on October 12, 1916, America is another of the great clubs of Mexican football. It is one of only two teams that have never been relegated, together with Guadalajara. Mexico’s most hated and loved team holds the record for the most Liga MX championships, which has won on 13 occasions.

Deportivo Toluca FC

It is the third team with the most league titles in Mexico, having won Liga MX 10 times. Two German brothers decided to create a football team near Zinacantepec founding Los Diablos Rojos of Toluca on 12 February 1917.

Visit and bet on your favorite team of the Liga MX!.

Register and claim your Welcome Bonus now!