The New Bundesliga Season 2020-21 begins!

Reading Time: 5 minutes read

The 2020-21 Bundesliga new season is set to start on Friday, September 18 with the first matchday that will face the current Champion Bayern München vs FC Schalke 04.

The German league will have the 18 teams to compete during 34 matchdays, without fans in stadiums, even though in the former months there had been the possibility that a limited number of fans may have been allowed into stadiums. However, amid the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, this has been cancelled and for now will have to wait, until at least the end of October, following a decision from the German government.

The Leader Teams

Historically, Bayern Munich has been the great dominant team and the most successful club in German football. Since the establishment of the Bundesliga in 1963 the Bavarians have won a record 30 national titles, including 8 in a row since 2013, 20 national cups, along with numerous European honours. They are the last winners of the Champions League 2020, which they have won 6 times in its history.

Needless to say that betting odds place Bayern as the winner of the Bundesliga again this season.

In recent years, their strongest competitor has been Borussia Dortmund which follows the leader very closely. The club have won 8 league championships, four DFB-Pokals, 1 UEFA Champions League, 1 Intercontinental Cup, and 1 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.


The Rivals

WIth Bayern and Dortmund always in their strong first positions, the rest of the teams have a difficult track to conquer the trophy.

But other powerful teams like RB Leipzig, Bayer 04 Leverkusen and Borussia M’gladbach are always on the top of the table with the leaders and are rivals that can not be excluded.

RB Leipzig

The club was founded in 2009 by the company Red Bull, and they ascended to first division Bundesliga in 2016/2017. They surprisingly ended the second of the table after Bayern Munich and since then the club has remained a dominant player in the league. 

In August 2020, the team made history participating in their first Champions League semi finals in which they finally lost against PSG.

Last season 2019-2020 they ended in third position, so they will be competing again in the next edition of the Champion League.

For this new season 2020-2021 the team will be a threat for the leaders, especially now that they felt the power of competing in the Champions league.

Bayer 04 Leverkusen

The team ended in fifth position in the last season, although they played and fought to stay and consolidate itself among the four best in the championship. 

The club, founded in 1904 by employees of the pharmaceutical company Bayer AG, is in the top division since 1979 but has never won the Bundesliga, even though they have been five times runner-up. 

This new season the team have qualified for the UEFA Europa League and they will have to fight hard to keep their top position in both competitions.

Borussia M’gladbach 

The club was founded in 1900 and joined the Bundesliga in 1965, at the same time as Bayern Munich did and since then, they have been always the eternal rivals. Both clubs rose to dominance in the 70’s, when the team won five league championships and Bayern won three. But it was until 1999 when their paths diverged after M’gladbach´s first relegation. Then Bayern kept on collecting titles.

But despite this and according to the statistics, M’gladbach is the team that has beaten Bayern München the most in the history of the Bundesliga and also the team that has won more times at home with the Munich team as visitors.

At present, Borussia M’gladbach is in very good shape and ready to face the big one again, just like in the old days.

Which team do you think will win the Bundesliga trophy this season? Play with the players!

Bet with London Betting Shop on Bundesliga. Don’t miss out on our latest welcome bonus 200% on your first deposit up to $400!

Gambling can be addictive. Please know your limits and gamble responsibly