Tigres vs Bayern in the Club World Cup Final!

Reading Time: 4 minutes read

The final of the FIFA Club World Cup will pit Mexico against Germany. Tigres UANL and the current European Champions, FC Bayern Munich fight for the trophy next 11th February. The Education City Stadium in al Rayyan, Qatar, will host what is expected to be an amazing match.

Tigres UANL

In the semifinals on Sunday, Tigres defeated favorites Palmeiras 1-0, becoming the first CONCACAF team to reach the final of the tournament. The goal was set up by a penalty taken by their star striker André-Pierre Gignac (54 mins).

Tigres has just made history in CONCACAF reaching the final of the Club World Cup. And they have already ensured that the 2021 season will be one of the most important they have ever had, regardless of the position they will end in Liga MX.

FC Bayern

Concerning FC Bayern, they beat Al-Ahly of Egypt 2-0 on Monday and booked their place in the final. Both goals came from Polish striker Robert Lewandowski (17 mins, 86 mins).

Bayern is already on the verge of crowning a very successful season. The team is looking for a full set of titles for the 2020 season (Champions League, Bundesliga, German Cup, German Super Cup, European Super Cup). And now maybe also the Club World Cup.

After the victory, FC Bayern posted an image on social media showing Robert Lewandowski and Leroy Sané, along with André-Pierre Gignac and Carlos Salcedo, with the message: “See you in the final”.  To which Tigres responded also through social media with: “We’re ready”.

The Germans won the Club World Cup back in 2013.


Club World Cup Format

FIFA founded the Club World Cup in 2000, with the name FIFA Club World Championship. 21 years after, the competition debuts a new format from 2021 on and will be held every four years. Some have even renamed it the Super Club World Cup.

The tournament is integrated by eight clubs from Europe, six from South America, three from CONCACAF, three from Africa, three from Asia, and one from Oceania. In groups of three teams, the Champions League and Europa League champions of the last four editions will face the six South American teams, the three from Africa, Asia, and CONCACAF, and the remaining one from Oceania.

The leader of each group goes directly to the quarter-finals.  If the same team is champion more than once during the four years of each period, it would be replaced by the next ranked team from each continental confederation.

The Japanese consortium Softbank’s supports this new FIFA project. They will pay between 12 and 15 billion euros for the realization of the new Club World Cup until 2029.

All is ready for the grand final! And the winner of this year’s FIFA Club World Cup will pocket the extraordinary sum of 115 million Euros!

Bet with London Betting Shop on the next FIFA Club World Cup winner. Don’t miss out on our latest welcome bonus 200% on your first deposit up to $400!

Gambling can be addictive. Please know your limits and gamble responsibly