When Does Liga MX Apertura 2021 start?

Reading Time: 3 minutes read

With the Clausura 2021 over and Cruz Azul as the new winner, the new Apertura 2021 of the Liga MX tournament is coming soon. A tournament that promises to be special because of the return of the fans to the stadiums.

This will be the 106th edition of the Mexican Primera División league championship, which will open the 2021-2022 season.

The Opening match day of the Apertura 2021 tournament will kick off on 22, 23 and 24 July.

Contenders Teams

In the competition, we will see again the 18 teams that participated in Guard1anes 2021, because promotion and relegation were canceled for at least 3 years. The teams are:

América ⚽Atlas ⚽Atlético San Luis ⚽ Cruz Azul ⚽ Chivas ⚽Juárez ⚽ León 

⚽ Mazatlán ⚽ Monterrey ⚽ Necaxa ⚽ Pachuca ⚽ Puebla ⚽ Pumas

⚽ Querétaro ⚽ Santos ⚽Tigres ⚽Tijuana ⚽Toluca


Competition Format

The Liga BBVA MX tournament consists in two phases:

The qualifying phase, with 17 rounds of the tournament in which all the teams play with each other.

Only the top four teams in the table will advance directly to the quarter-finals. The teams from fifth to twelfth place will play a round-robin play-off to get four places.

Ont the other hand, the teams that have finished in the last three positions will have to pay a penalty: the penultimate team 33 million pesos ($1,7 M), the second to last team 47 million pesos ($2,4 M), and the last one 80 million pesos ($4 M).

The final phase, or Liguilla, with the reclassification, quarter-final, semi-final, and final matches, that will be played in two legs. The away goal disappears and the advantage goes to the higher-placed club in the table.

In this new edition of Liga MX Apertura 2021, all the teams will have the same mission: to win the trophy that confirms them as the champions of Mexican football.

Follow Apertura 2021 of Liga MX and bet on your favorite matches at lbsbet.com! We offer the best odds.

Claim now your Welcome Bonus!